If you have anxiety like me, or you’re just someone who has trouble walking amongst large crowds, then maybe this post can do something to make life that little bit easier for you.

Have you ever been out walking in a mall and seen someone a short distance ahead of you who seems to navigate the crowd really well? You know what I’m talking about, don’t you? There’s always someone who glides through crowds like a warm knife through butter. They never bump shoulders. Never jump out of anyone’s way. It’s almost like they’re the friggin queen. That’s who I’m going to help you become. No more moving out of the way for burly men or the almost as bad- late mothers.

Now, before I really get into it, I want to give you a good idea of where I was before I started changing the way I hold myself in public. I had, and still have anxiety. I used to hunch my shoulders, have a short gait and try to follow others throughout go the crowd. My eyes were as large as saucers and I would avoid large crowds like the plague itself. I’m proud to say I no longer do this. Any of it. Now, the first thing you have to change is your headspace. You’ve gotta ditch the ‘oh man I’m never gonna make it through this crowd’ and change it over for the ‘these bitches had better move out of my way, or I’ll give them something to move for’.

As silly as it seems, it’s the key to making it through the crowds. Basically, you’re gonna let this mantra project outwards and create an atmosphere around you that screams ‘important person’. Because you are important. You’re a man on a mission, and you’ll be damned if you let anyone get indoor way. To achieve the classic bad girl/guy look make sure your eyes are set on something in the distance and your eyebrows are lowered (but not so that you’re frowning. Because then people will think something’s wrong and they’ll stop you to ask. I’ve had it happen.) basically, try to glare. When you walk in public, it is to be with an air of confidence. Make sure your shoulders are back (don’t hunch!) and your head is held high, as if you’re being drawn up by a string.

Basically, walk like a model. Extend your gait a little so it looks like you’re cool, calm and collected, but you’ll still be moving at quite a speed. (it feels cool when you do it right, trust me)

To summarise

  1. Think; walk bitch.
  2. Killer glare
  3. Shoulders back. Head high
  4.  Long gait

It takes practice, but I’m sure you’ll get there. Just make sure not to be rude to people. Don’t glare directly at them. This is why we glare into the distance, not into someone’s eyes. You don’t wanna make someone feel insecure in public. I’ve been there and it wasnt pretty. But with this, at least I’m not bumping into people all the time. Let me know how you guys go and If you have any tips for others! I’m sure I’ve forgotten something.

